Dear NFPRs, Members and Colleagues,

As I enter my second year as Chair of the STEPAN, I have come to think of this network as one very large, multi-national and best in class policy makers participation in this Asia and the Pacific Region. Members that provide huge opportunities to learn, teach, mentor, and share an appropriate SETI policies development inclusive policy implementation, monitoring and evaluation.

In the knowledge-based economy, SETI is becoming the core driving force of the national and regional competitiveness. And the rapid changes around us whether policy, political, technological, scientific, economic, social or otherwise require us to create an effective network and collaboration. STEPAN enables us to communicate, meet, brainstorm, and socialize with members and colleagues all over the Asia Pacific. Currently STEPAN have 19 NFPRs within Asia and the Pacific Region and hope our membership can be increased simultaneously.

I am looking forward to the 2nd Annual Board Meeting on 23-24 May 2022. Many changes have occurred during this past year and I am looking forward to continuing with positive changes in our mission to facilitate and support the economic development, sustainable and wellbeing in our Asia and the Pacific Region. Definitely, it takes a lot of work for the Coordination Board members particularly to guide the implementation and the materialisation STEPAN’s Action Plans 2021-2025.

Please do not hesitate to let us know where your interests and possible contributions lie. Areas in which STEPAN need your cooperation mainly in SETI Policy and Governance, SETI promotion, Open Science, SDGs Technologies, Data Sharing & Management as well as proposal co-writing on R & D & I programmes for Grant or Fund raising. All members’ full commitment and participation are most welcome and we are looking forward to your support in order to have a successful and satisfying year.

Finally, I would like to give a special shout-out of appreciation to Mr. Mohamed Djelid, Director of UNESCO Jakarta’ Office, our four Vice Chairs, Dr Inkyoung Sun, Dr Eunjung Shin, Dr Dilfuza Egamberdieva and Dr Mahesha Nadugala, Secretariat members particularly Dr Ai Sugiura, Miss Jiaying Lin and Miss Fitrie A. Nurritasari for your continuous participation, enthusiasm, support, resources, guidance provided each and every day and Universiti Teknologi Malaysia for their full support and encouragement for me to carry out my duty as the Chair, to lead and contribute for the betterment of STEPAN.

Thank you all!

May 2022

Associate Professor Dr Aini Suzana Hj Ariffin


Associate Professor, Perdana Center, Razak Faculty of Technology and Informatics, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur